Last updated: October 25, 2026
An actbest electric bike is the cheapest way to put real watt-hours under your legs in 2026, and the listings work very hard to stop you noticing what you actually bought. The same shop sells a 350W city bike and a 1,500W-peak fat-tyre machine that unlocks to 35 mph, and both get described with the same breathless range numbers. I read spec sheets for a living, so here is the whole range untangled: the motors as rated, the batteries in watt-hours, the range claims audited against physics, the legal class of every model, and a score for each bike.
Start with the naming mess, because it is deliberate. Every actbest electric bike listing leads with a peak wattage, not the nominal rating that decides legality and sustained climbing power. The original Core is sold as a “Peak 750W” bike. Its motor is a 350W nominal hub. Both numbers are printed; only one of them is in the headline font. Range gets the same treatment: a 468Wh battery is advertised at 50 miles, which works out to 9.4 watt-hours per mile, a figure no throttle-equipped bike achieves outside a laboratory.
What you are buying is a mail-order brand, not a bike-shop brand. Actbest sells through its own store at actbestbike.com and through Amazon, ships bikes roughly 90% assembled, and backs them with a 12-month warranty handled by email and phone. There is no dealer network. That model keeps prices low and makes you the service department.
My short version, before the detail: buy the Core ST 2.0 if you want a cheap, legal commuter and you can turn a wrench. Buy the Ranger 2.0 or Blazer ST Ultra if you want fat tyres and a big battery and you ride where a 28 mph machine is welcome. Do not buy the Pioneer at all. The rest of this guide shows the working. One housekeeping note: every price here is the sale price shown on Actbest’s store or Amazon, checked October 25, 2026, and this brand’s prices move weekly, so treat them as snapshots.

The Actbest Electric Bike Range, Untangled
Six models matter in the current range, plus one outgoing bike still on Amazon. The numbers that count: nominal power where stated, peak power as advertised, battery capacity in watt-hours, and the claim each listing leads with.
| Model | Motor (nominal / peak) | Battery | Headline claim | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core (original) | 350W / 750W peak | 36V 13Ah = 468Wh | 50 miles PAS, 35 throttle | $459.99 |
| Core ST 2.0 | 500W / 1,200W peak | 48V 10.4Ah = 499Wh | 55 miles | $599 |
| Mars | Not stated / 1,000W peak (est.) | 48V 13.5Ah = 648Wh | 55 miles, 28 mph | $569 |
| Ranger 2.0 | Not stated / 1,500W peak | 48V 15.6Ah = 749Wh | 28 mph, big range | $829 |
| Blaze 16in / 20in | Not stated / 1,200W or 1,500W peak | 48V 10.4Ah or 15.6Ah = 499Wh / 749Wh | 75-mile class claims | From $569.99 |
| Blazer ST Ultra | Not stated / peak not pinned in listings | 48V 20Ah = 960Wh | Biggest battery in the range | $959 |
| Pioneer | Not stated / 1,500W peak | 48V 13Ah = 624Wh | 28 mph, unlocks to 35 mph | Sold via Amazon sellers |
The Core family is the commuter line: 26-inch wheels, 2.1-inch tyres, step-through and step-over frames, a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain and a rear rack. The original Core runs a 36V system and a carbon steel frame; the Core ST 2.0 moved to 48V, a 500W nominal motor and a colour display, and it is the store’s current headline commuter at $599.
The Mars is the folder: 20-inch fat tyres, a folding frame, 648Wh and a 69.4 lb listed weight. Folding bikes you cannot lift are a special kind of lie, and 69.4 lb is car-boot weight, not train-platform weight. The Ranger line is the full-size fat-tyre offering, 26-inch wheels with 4-inch rubber; the outgoing Ranger at $699 pairs the 1,500W peak motor with a 624Wh pack, while the Ranger 2.0 at $829 stretches the battery to 749Wh and the listed weight to 77.2 lb.
The Blaze is the moped-style bike, bench seat and all, in 16-inch and 20-inch wheel sizes, and it pedals about as willingly as a moped does. The Blazer ST Ultra is the one grown-up spec in the fat-tyre half of the range: a low-step frame, rear suspension, hydraulic disc brakes and the biggest battery Actbest sells, 960Wh, in an 84.2 lb package. The Pioneer is a 20-inch full-suspension fat bike whose listing teaches you a button sequence to derestrict it. Hold that thought for the legality section.
Actbest Electric Bike Range Claims vs Physics
Range claims are where this brand spends its credibility, so let us do the arithmetic the listings hope you skip. Energy use on an e-bike is measured in watt-hours per mile. A slim commuter ridden gently on low assist sips 12 to 15 Wh per mile. Mixed riding with real throttle use takes 16 to 22. A fat-tyre bike ridden on the throttle alone burns 28 to 35 Wh per mile, because you are pushing wide, soft tyres through the air. Those bands are the physics every honest brand plans around.
Now divide. The original Core carries 468Wh and claims 50 miles on pedal assist, which is 9.4 Wh per mile, and 35 miles on throttle, which is 13.4 Wh per mile. A throttle-only mile at 13.4 Wh does not exist on a 62 lb steel bike. Plan on 31 miles of gentle assist (468 / 15), about 25 miles of mixed riding (468 / 19), and 16 miles of throttle (468 / 30). The Core ST 2.0 claims 55 miles from 499Wh: 9.1 Wh per mile. Same story. Its honest planning numbers are 28 mixed miles and 18 throttle miles.
The fat bikes exaggerate harder because the claims grow while the consumption grows faster. The outgoing Ranger claims 75 miles from 624Wh, or 8.3 Wh per mile, on 4-inch tyres. No. Divide 624 by 20 for mixed riding and you get 31 miles; divide by 32 for throttle work and you get 20. The Ranger 2.0’s 749Wh buys you roughly 37 mixed miles or 23 throttle miles. The Pioneer claims 45 to 65 miles of assist and 30 to 40 miles of throttle from the same 624Wh; the throttle figure implies 15.6 to 20.8 Wh per mile from a full-suspension fat bike, which is fiction. Plan on 31 and 20, same as the Ranger.
The Blazer ST Ultra’s 960Wh is the range king here by simple capacity: about 48 mixed miles, 30 on the throttle. A genuinely useful number, bought with weight: 84.2 lb, printed plainly. Credit where due.
Now the comparison that matters. Price per realistic mixed-mode mile, same yardstick for everyone:
- Core ST 2.0: $599 / 28 miles = $21.39 per real mile
- Ranger 2.0: $829 / 37 miles = $22.41 per real mile
- Blazer ST Ultra: $959 / 48 miles = $19.98 per real mile
- Lectric XP 4 (the class-legal rival): $999 / 31 miles = $32.23 per real mile
The Lectric figure uses its 499Wh pack at a thriftier 16 Wh per mile, which its narrower tyres and lighter frame earn honestly. Even spotting the rival that advantage, an actbest electric bike undercuts it by roughly a third per real mile of range. That is the strongest thing in this entire guide, and it is true. What the Lectric’s extra money buys is published paperwork (our Class 1 e-bike guide explains why class paperwork decides where you may ride), a US support network, and spec sheets that survive contact with independent testing. You are choosing between dollars per mile and dollars per night of sleep.
Charging is the other half of range. Every model here charges from a small bundled brick, and Actbest quotes 4 to 6 hours across the range; believe it for the 468Wh and 499Wh packs. A 960Wh Blazer battery on a charger of that class is an overnight job, 7 to 9 hours (est.). A full charge costs loose change either way; our guide to what it costs to charge an electric bike runs the per-charge maths, and a 749Wh Ranger fill works out near 15 cents at average US residential rates (est.).

Motors and Torque: Peak Is a Headline, Torque Is a Hill
Peak wattage is the power a motor can touch briefly before the controller pulls it back. Nominal wattage is what it can hold up a long grade. Torque, measured in newton-metres, is what you feel in the first two pedal strokes and at walking speed on a ramp. Actbest publishes a torque figure for exactly one bike in this range: the Ranger, at 80 Nm. For the Core line, the Mars, the Blaze and the Pioneer, the listings I checked print no Nm figure at all. Silence on torque is a tell. Brands with a good number print it.
What can be verified: the original Core’s 350W nominal motor is a gentle city unit, adequate on the flat, patient on grades. The Core ST 2.0’s 500W nominal motor with 1,200W peak is the sweet spot of the range, strong enough for real hills at bicycle speeds. Independent reviewers who have ridden it agree; GoEBikeLife’s hands-on Core ST 2.0 review rated the bike 8.6/10 as a budget commuter while asking, fairly, for hydraulic brakes. The 1,500W-peak models will feel muscular off the line because peak torque at low speed is what those controllers deliver; sustained climbing speed is capped by a nominal rating Actbest does not state, likely near 750W (est.).
Every bike here uses a cadence sensor; none of the listings I checked mentions a torque sensor, and at these prices none will have one. Cadence sensing gives you an on/off surge when the cranks turn; it is crude, predictable, and perfectly serviceable for commuting. It is also why these bikes feel like appliances next to a torque-sensor rival. Judge them as appliances and several of them are good ones. Our RTR electric bikes verdict covers the same peak-versus-nominal shell game at the mini-moto end of the market.
Is an Actbest Electric Bike Legal Where You Ride?
US classes, plainly: Class 1 is pedal assist only to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle, still capped at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, and in most states its throttle, if fitted, must cut at 20 mph. Motors are capped at 750W. A bike outside those lines is not an e-bike in the eyes of most state law; it is an unregistered motor vehicle, banned from bike paths.
Model by model, then. The original Core ships as a clean Class 2: 350W, throttle, 20 mph. Ride it anywhere Class 2 is welcome. The Core ST 2.0 also ships as a Class 2 bike, though Actbest’s own copy muddies this: its Core Swept FAQ claims 22 mph “complying with Class 2 regulations.” Class 2 ends at 20 mph. The brand’s own paperwork gets its own bike’s class wrong, which tells you how much legal review these listings receive.
The Mars claims 28 mph with a throttle. That is not Class 3, whatever the listing implies, because Class 3 does not give you a throttle to 28. Configured down to 20 mph it is a Class 2 folder; left as claimed, it sits outside the three classes in most states. The Ranger, Ranger 2.0, Blaze 20-inch and Pioneer all advertise 28 mph assistance and peak outputs double the 750W ceiling. Some ship with a lower limiter set; some states let you set the class in a menu. The legal exposure lands on the rider, not the seller.
The Pioneer deserves its own paragraph. Its listing explains, step by step, how to hold the brake and throttle and press the power button to unlock 35 mph. At 35 mph on a throttle you are riding a moped in every state in the union, without the moped’s registration, lighting standard, or insurance. Trails will ban it, paths will ban it, and after a collision the unlock instructions will be Exhibit A. Do not buy a bike whose feature list includes a law-breaking procedure. There is no version of this advice I am softening.
One more legal filter: New York City and a growing list of landlords, campuses and insurers require UL 2849 certification of the whole electrical system. Actbest listings claim UL 2849 certification across the range, and its manuals describe UL 2849-certified batteries with BMS protection. What Actbest does not publish, anywhere I could find, is a UL file number or a certificate you can look up in UL’s Product iQ database. A claim printed on a listing is not a certification. Check the physical label on the battery before you pay, and photograph it when the box arrives.
Build Quality and Components, Graded Honestly
Strip the electrics off an actbest electric bike and what remains is a parts-bin bicycle, assembled from the same catalogue every budget brand raids. The drivetrains are Shimano 7-speed, Tourney class: the cheapest tier with the Shimano name on it, functional when adjusted, quick to wear, and trivially cheap to replace. Cables stretch, indexing drifts, and a $40 tune restores order. That is what $599 buys everywhere on earth.
Brakes split the range in two. Most models stop with mechanical disc brakes: adequate power, frequent adjustment, pads that wear fast on a 70 lb bike ridden at 28 mph. The Blazer ST Ultra’s hydraulic discs are the correct spec for its weight and the single best component decision in the catalogue. If you buy a mechanical-brake model, budget for better pads in the first season and learn the barrel adjuster.
Frames are carbon steel on the Core line, which is why a Core ST 2.0 lists at 62.4 lb and why nobody should plan to carry one up three flights daily. Suspension is basic coil forks up front and, on the fat bikes, a rear shock of the same honest, undamped character; the Blaze listing’s “4 shock absorbers” counts springs the way the wattage headline counts watts.
Displays improved with the 2.0 generation: the Core ST 2.0 gets a colour screen and cruise control, a feature testers single out as genuinely useful on flat commutes. Tyres are unbranded or budget rubber with acceptable tread and optimistic sidewalls. Nothing here is premium, and almost everything is replaceable with standard bicycle parts, which is the saving grace of the whole line.
Support, Parts and the 12-Month Clock
Every actbest electric bike carries a 12-month warranty covering the motor, battery and controller, with support by email (service@actbest.net) and a US phone line on weekday hours. Claims run on photos, videos and patience; the fix, when approved, is a shipped part and your own labour. There is no shop network to lean on, and many local bike shops decline to work on mail-order hub-drive bikes, or charge a bench fee that eats your price advantage in one visit.
Parts are the long game. Standard bicycle wear items (pads, chains, tyres, cables) are universal and cheap. The proprietary bits are the battery, the controller and the display, and those come only from Actbest or Amazon resellers. A replacement 749Wh pack, when listed, runs a meaningful fraction of the bike’s price (est., based on comparable pack pricing in this tier), and availability in year three is a hope, not a catalogue promise. Independent coverage of the brand echoes the pattern: strong specification per dollar, thin service depth. Buy with a credit card, keep the box through the return window, and screenshot the listing’s claims on purchase day. Listings change; screenshots do not.
Verdicts: Our Score for Every Actbest Electric Bike Worth Scoring
Scores use our standard three sub-scores: Range (realistic miles, not claimed), Charging (speed and convenience), and Value (spec delivered per dollar, support included).
Actbest Core (original) — Our score: 6.8/10 (Range: 5/10 · Charging: 6/10 · Value: 9/10). The $459.99 entry point is honest Class 2 transport with a small battery and a heavy frame. Fine for flat, short commutes; outgrown quickly.
Actbest Core ST 2.0 — Our score: 7.9/10 (Range: 6/10 · Charging: 6/10 · Value: 9/10). The default recommendation. A 500W nominal motor, 499Wh, a colour display and legal Class 2 manners at $599. Mechanical brakes are its one real miss.
Actbest Mars — Our score: 7.2/10 (Range: 6/10 · Charging: 6/10 · Value: 8/10). A real 648Wh pack in a folding frame at $569. Buy it for the boot of a car, not for carrying anywhere, and set the limiter to 20 mph if your state cares.
Actbest Ranger 2.0 — Our score: 7.4/10 (Range: 7/10 · Charging: 5/10 · Value: 8/10). 749Wh, published 80 Nm torque on the Ranger line, and $22.41 per real mile. Heavy, fast enough to create paperwork, and the fat-tyre pick of the range.
Actbest Blazer ST Ultra — Our score: 7.6/10 (Range: 8/10 · Charging: 5/10 · Value: 7/10). The biggest battery and the only hydraulic brakes, wrapped around an easy step-through frame. At 84.2 lb it is a garage bike, not an apartment bike.
Actbest Pioneer — Our score: 5.9/10 (Range: 6/10 · Charging: 5/10 · Value: 6/10). Competent hardware disqualified by its own unlock instructions. A manufacturer that teaches you to derestrict a bike to 35 mph is telling you exactly how it will treat every other rule, including the warranty.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is an actbest electric bike worth buying in 2026?
One of them is. The Core ST 2.0 at $599 delivers legal Class 2 commuting at $21.39 per realistic mile, the cheapest honest figure in this guide. The fat-tyre models make sense for private land, snow, sand and relaxed jurisdictions. The Pioneer makes sense nowhere public law reaches.
How far will an Actbest actually go on one charge?
Plan with watt-hours, not claims. Divide the battery by 19 for mixed riding or by 30 to 32 for throttle-heavy fat-tyre use: the Core ST 2.0 gives roughly 28 mixed miles, the Ranger 2.0 about 37, and the Blazer ST Ultra about 48. Headline claims assume 8 to 9 Wh per mile, which no bike in this range achieves in normal use.
Are Actbest e-bikes UL 2849 certified?
The listings say yes, repeatedly, and the manuals describe UL 2849-certified batteries. Actbest publishes no UL file number that a buyer can verify in UL’s database, so treat the claim as unverified until you have seen the certification label on the delivered battery. In New York City, that label is the whole ballgame.
Which Actbest models can I ride on a bike path?
The original Core and the Core ST 2.0, as shipped, are Class 2 and welcome wherever Class 2 is allowed. The Mars must be limited to 20 mph to say the same. The Ranger 2.0, Blaze and Pioneer, at their advertised 28 mph and beyond, sit outside the three-class system in most states and belong on private land or motorised trails.
Can my local bike shop repair an Actbest?
For tyres, brakes, chains and gears, yes: they are standard bicycle parts. For motors, controllers and batteries, expect many shops to decline, because the parts are proprietary. Your realistic service network is Actbest’s email support, shipped parts, and your own tools.
If you want the cheapest honest commuter, an actbest electric bike is hard to beat on price per real mile. Before you buy, check the battery label on any actbest electric bike you order. That final check is what turns an actbest electric bike purchase from a gamble into a sound buy.


